Author Update

A quick update on what I’ve been up to over the past month.

rachel_aaa7019_psd

Spending some time with hearing dog puppy Polly

How time flies when you have a blog and can’t post! The past few weeks have been a bit of a blur for me. I’ve finished my PhD, left Lincoln and moved down South, starting a brand new job as Health Information Officer at Cancer Research UK.

Although this is a distinctly ‘un-doggy’ job, it’s already been so rewarding. Everything I’ve learned over the past few years about science communication is being put to the test. If I do my job right, I have the opportunity to prevent cancer. It makes getting out of bed for my 1.5 hour commute pretty easy!

I do miss the dogs, but running this blog, finishing my PhD in human-directed aggressive behaviour, and starting the new job all have the same end game for me. I loved being a researcher, but talking to people about science and witnessing that information change lives is what it’s all about for me.

So what’s happening to the blog?

Now I’m all settled in (or at least no longer getting hopelessly lost on the London underground!) regular posts will resume!

Over the next couple of months, I’ll be exploring the fate of ‘failed’ assistance dogs, investigating the role that dogs play in the lives of elderly people and finding out what the state of play is for racing greyhounds in the UK.

As always, I’m happy to take suggestions as to other topics you’d like to see covered here. Is there something in the dog/handler world that should be brought to attention? Is there a new piece of research you’d like to know more about, or a myth you want busted? Leave your suggestions in the comments below.

Hope you’re having a great day – we’ll catch up soon!

Rachel

 

Leave a Reply

